​​​< back to Internal Awards

Award Overview

Student Deadline to Graduate Unit:

As determined by the individual graduate unit

Graduate Unit Deadline to SGS:

May 11, 2017

Level of Study:

Master's or doctoral (depending on awards' criteria)

Required Legal Status:

Domestic or international (depending on awards' criteria)




Through the generous support of numerous donors, a number of endowed awards have been established at the School of Graduate Studies. Approximately 16 awards with individual eligibility criteria and values are available within the SGS University-Wide Awards competition.

After the competition is announced, each graduate unit:

  • sets its own internal application deadline for receiving students' applications

  • selects their top candidates and forwards them to SGS by the nomination deadline.

Eligibility to Apply

The majority of these awards require eligible applicants to be currently registered in a U of T graduate program at the time of application (and must maintain this registration throughout the 2017-18 academic year).

Please note that two of the awards fall outside of the criteria mentioned above:

  • Agnes M. Ireland Award is for eligible new, incoming students beginning the first year of their graduate program in September

  • Donald Matheson Springer Fellowship is for eligible graduating U of T students who will start a graduate program at the University of Michigan in September.

Eligible applications that are not successful in obtaining a listed award for which they applied will be considered for other available awards not currently listed on the SGS website.

It is each applicant's responsibility to ensure they are eligible for each award to which they apply, by:

  • reading the requirements within each award description (below)

  • submitting all of the required documentation by their graduate unit's application deadline.

Ineligible or incomplete applications will not be considered.

Need-Based / OSOTF Awards

Awards categorized as need-based only do not consider applicants' academic merit/transcripts.

Awards categorized as "OSOTF" (Ontario Student Opportunity Trust Fund) are only open to eligible applicants who:

1. Demonstrate financial need within the application's Financial Need Assessment section;

2. Are Canadian citizens, permanent residents of Canada, or protected persons at the time of the application; and

3. Are residents of Ontario at the time of the application, as defined by one of the following criteria:

  • Student has always lived in Ontario
  • Ontario is the last province student has lived in for 12 months in a row before beginning his/her current graduate program
  • Student lives in Ontario now AND has lived in Canada for less than 12 months in a row

If student is married/common-law, student can be considered an Ontario resident if: qualifies as a dependent student, s/he is considered an Ontario resident if:

  • spouse has always lived in Ontario or 
  • spouse has lived in Ontario for the last 12 months in a row without being a full-time postsecondary student or
  • All of these statements are true:
    • student now resides in Ontario
    • student has lived in Canada for less than 12 months in a row
    • parent(s) have lived in Canada for less than 12 months in a row

If student qualifies as a dependent student, s/he is considered an Ontario resident if:

  • Ontario is the last province in which parent(s) have lived in for at least 12 months in a row or
  • All of these statements are true:
    • student now resides in Ontario
    • student has lived in Canada for less than 12 months in a row
    • parent(s) have lived in Canada for less than 12 months in a row

The above requirements are the guidelines established by OSAP to determine Ontario residency for OSAP purposes and can be found here:

Merit-Based Awards

Awards categorized as merit-based only do not consider applicants' financial need.

At minimum, applicants must:

  • have achieved at least an A- ("A-" = 80%) or equivalent in each of the last two completed years of study (full-time equivalent); or

  • if the student has completed two years of graduate studies at the time of application, the student must only demonstrate an overall average of at least A- ("A-" = 80%) or equivalent on all graduate courses completed.

See grading scales.

Application Process

Applicants can confirm their graduate unit's application deadline with their graduate administrator in early to mid-April.

In order to apply, applicants:

  1. must complete the SGS University-Wide Awards Application (posted in this section in March) and provide at least one letter of reference

  2. may apply for more than one award in this competition by submitting one complete application package to the graduate unit as per the unit's internal deadline

  3. must ensure they submit all of the additional required documentation for each of the awards for which they are applying (detailed in the award descriptions below)

  4. must ensure that letters of reference are sent directly from the referees to the graduate unit as per the unit's internal deadline.

Please note that supporting documentation is also required for certain items within the financial need assessment section of the application form (if applicable). Please refer to the SGS University-Wide Awards Financial Need Guide.

Application form (this form will be posted in March; it must be saved to a local computer before it can be completed).

Award Descriptions

The awards in this competition are categorized by division—see SGS's divisional structure to find out which division your graduate unit belongs to.



Number of Recipients Awarded Annually

All Joseph Bazylewicz Fellowship1 to 5
All Jeanne F. Goulding Fellowship1 to 3
All Agnes M. Ireland Award (OSOTF)1 to 3
All Ranjit Kumar Graduate Fellowship1
All Kwok Sau Po Scholarship1 to 2
All UTFA Al Miller Memorial Award (OSOTF)1 to 2
All Scace Graduate Fellowship1 to 4
All Donald Matheson Springer Fellowship1 to 2
All Vivekananda Graduate Prize (OSOTF)1
All Professor R. Paul Young Fellowship1
All CCDI Fiftieth Anniversary First Families Award (OSOTF)1
All Hungarian Helicon Foundation Graduate Award (OSOTF)1
3 Lachlan Gilchrist Fellowship Fund1 to 3
3 & 4 Mary Gertrude I'Anson Scholarship (OSOTF)1 to 5
3 & 4 Lorne F. Lambier, Q.C. Scholarship1
3 & 4 Ara Mooradian Scholarship1

Award Holder Information

Eligible candidates will receive an official award email from SGS--along with a link to this web page--to review the terms and conditions of their award.

Recipients are required to review the terms and conditions to ensure they will be able to collect and hold their award throughout the 2017-18 academic year.

Payment Timeline

Upon registration for the academic year, successful candidates' payments will be processed through ACORN/ROSI in early September. If a recipient owes fees from the previous academic year (2016-17), the payment will first clear the arrears and any remaining money from the payment will be refunded to the recipient.

The method of the refund depends on the information the recipients have entered onto their ACORN/ROSI accounts. Please review the Managing Your Award web page for further information.

Deferrals / Leaves of Absence

All recipients are required to contact the Graduate Awards Officer (Internal)​ about any potential changes to their registration status and/or program.

Contacts & Resources

Please direct inquiries to:

Tara Lock
Graduate Awards Officer (Internal)
Graduate Awards Office
(416) 978-2386