Council of Graduate Deans

​Graduate education is a shared activity, and the quality of graduate programs is a shared value. As such, consultative groups are in place within our academic community to ensure there is appropriate discussion before key policy and regulation recommendations are made to the Graduate Education Council and subsequent levels of governance. While Graduate Education Council is the highest governance body of the School of Graduate Studies, the Council of Graduate Deans (CGD) is one such consultative group.

Since 2006, the CGD meets on a regular basis (monthly during the academic year) for information exchange, discussion, and consultation. The CGD is a forum for the discussion of changes to policies and procedures​ and of emerging issues affecting graduate education. The perspective brought by the various faculty graduate vice-deans is significant, given the size and complexity of graduate education at the University of Toronto.

Meeting Schedule 2018-2019

September 25, 2018
October 23, 2018
November 27, 2018
January 22, 2019
February 26, 2019
March 26, 2019
April 23, 2019
May 28, 2019

Date & Time

CGD meetings are typically scheduled on the fourth Tuesday of each month from 12:00 to 2:00 pm.


Meetings will take place in the Lawrence Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, 115 College Street, 2nd Floor, Room 270.​

CGD Membership

The Council consists of the SGS Dean / Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education; the two SGS Vice-Deans; the Vice/Associate Deans (Graduate) from the multi- and single-department Faculties; the Vice-Deans Graduate of UTM and UTSC, and the Rotman School of Management. In addition, the SGS Directors serve as resources to the group.​

2018-2019 Members​

Joshua Barker [ON LEAVE], Dean of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education, SGS
Luc De Nil, Acting Dean of Graduate Studies and Acting Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education, SGS
Charmaine Williams, Acting Vice-Dean, Students, SGS
Gretchen Kerr, Vice-Dean, Programs and Innovation, SGS
Julie Audet, Vice-Dean, Graduate Studies, FASE
Nancy Baxter, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, DLSPH
Dwayne Benjamin, Vice-Dean, Graduate Education, FAS
Ken Corts, Vice-Dean, Faculty & Research, Management
Shelley Craig, Associate Dean, Academic, Social Work
Allan Kaplan, Vice-Dean, Graduate and Life Sciences Education, Medicine
Midori Koga, Associate Dean, Graduate Education, Music
Ernie Lam, Associate Dean, Graduate Education, Dentistry
Kelly Lyons, Associate Dean, Academic, Information
Rob MacGregor, Director, Graduate Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacy
Tiff Macklem, Dean, Management
Douglas McDougall, Associate Dean, Programs, OISE
Jeremy Packer, Associate Dean, Graduate, UTM
Mariana Prado, Associate Dean, Graduate Program, Law
Mary Silcox, Vice-Dean, Graduate, UTSC
Richard Sommer, Dean, FALD
Ashley Stirling, Vice-Dean, Academic Affairs, KPE
Robyn Stremler, Acting Associate Dean (Academic), Nursing
Robert Wright, Dean, Forestry
Brian Desrosiers-Tam, Director, Office of the Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education​, SGS
Jane Freeman, Director, Graduate Centre for Academic Communication, SGS
Lisa Haley, Program Completion Officer, Doctoral, SGS
Josie Lalonde, Director, Student Academic Services, SGS
Laura Stathopoulos, Director, Graduate Awards and Financial Aid, SGS
Kristen Stinchcombe, Special Projects Officer, SGS
Alison Kenzie, Communications Officer, SGS
Daniella Mallinick, Director, Academic Programs, Planning and Quality Assurance
Shelley Eisner, Campus Graduate Administrator, UTSC
Annette Knott, Academic Programs Officer, UTSC
Amrita Daniere, Interim Vice-Principal, Academic and Dean, UTM
William Gough, Dean and Vice-Principal (Academic), UTSC


Dianne Heximer
Council Secretary