Argentina | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Licenciado/Licentiatura or professional title (e.g. Ingeniero, Arquitecto, Abogado) requiring four years of study
Masters Equiv.
Grad Sample
Maestria, Doctorado
First Degree Sample
Licendiado/Licenciatura or professional title (e.g., Ingeniero, Arquitecto, Abogado)
Grading System

A- Equivalent: 8/10

10 Sobresaliente Excellent
8-9 Distinguido Very Good
6-7 Bueno Good
4-5 Aprobado Pass
2-3 Insuficiente Insufficient
0-1 Reprobado Failure

Recognized Universities

Instituto Tecnologico de Buenos Aires
Pontificia Universidad Catolica Argentina Santa Maria de los Buenos Aires
Universidad Argentina de la Empresa
Universidad Argentina ‘John F. Kennedy’
Universidad Austral
Universidad Blás Pascal
Universidad de Belgrano
Universidad de Buenos Aires
Universidad Catolica de Cordoba
Universidad Catolica de la Plata
Universidad Catolica de Salta
Universidad Favaloro
Universidad Juan Agustin Maza
Universidad de la Marina Mercante
Universidad de Mendoza
Universidad de Moron
Universidad Nacional de Catamarca
Universidad Nacional del Comahue, Neuquen
Universidad Nacional de Cordoba
Universidad Nacional de Cuyo
Universidad Nacional del Litoral
Universidad Nacional de Lujan
Universidad Nacional de Mar del Plata
Universidad Nacional de Nordeste
Universidad Nacional de la Plata
Universidad Nacional de Rio Cuarto
Universidad Nacional de Rosario
Universidad Nacional de Salta
Universidad Nacional de San Juan
Universidad Nacional de San Luis
Universidad Nacional de Santiago del Estero
Universidad Nacional del Sur
Universidad Nacional de Tucuman
Universidad Notarial Argentina
Universidad de Palermo
Universidad del Salvador
Universidad de San Andres
Universidad Tecnologica Nacional
Universidad Torcuato di Tella

Notes for Argentina

Grading systems in the higher education sector vary from one institution to another as well as from one college or faculty to another within the same institution.  Usually grades of 9 or 10 are reserved for outstanding achievement and in some cases, such grades may be fairly rare.  A cumulative average of 6 to 7 indicates above average achievement.  While students may repeat examinations they fail, the failing grades are usually reported on the transcript. Insuficiente and reprobado are both failing grades. Insuficiente suggests possible success if the student were to try harder or try again, while reprobado does not.

Pregrado courses are also known as intermediate university degrees (Titulos Intermedios) or so-called Tecnicaturas. They are short-cycle undergraduate courses normally of two to three years in duration consisting of around 1,500 hours of classroom study. They are not comparable to a Bachelor’s degree.

The qualification titles awarded vary widely and may include the following:
Título de Técnico en [subject area]
Título de [subject area] (such as Título de Analista Económico or Título de Enfermero)
Título de Técnico Universitario en [subject area] or Título de [profession] Universitario (e.g. Título de Enfermero Universitario)
Título de Técnico Superior en [subject area].
Grado programmes (Long-cycle undergraduate degrees)

Long-cycle undergraduate degrees known as Licenciatura or professional programmes must by law last a minimum of four years and consist of at least 2,600 contact hours. In practice the majority of degrees are five years in duration, degree programmes in medicine can last as long as seven years. Completion of the Grado level provides access to all postgraduate programme. There are three types of postgraduate qualifications on offer in Argentina:
– Especialización – Titulo de Especialista – is comparable to 1-2 years of graduate study in Canada.
– Maestría
– Doctorado.

Last Update: October 2, 2018

Last modified: June 13, 2019