Australia | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
Distinction/2nd Class, Upper Division; 70/100 ; 75/100*
B Plus GPA
Distinction/2nd Class, Upper Division; 70/100 ; 75/100*
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Bachelor`s (Honours) requiring at least 4 years of study; or Post Graduate Diploma, Graduate Diploma or Master`s Qualifying Year (awarded after 3-year Bachelor’s degree).
Masters Equiv.
Master`s degree (by research or by coursework) following completion of a four-year bachelor`s degree (or its equivalent).
Grad Sample
*Honours Master's (Master by Research) degrees awarded as follows: a) First Class Honours, Second Class Honours A, Second Class Honours B, or b) Honours Class I, Honours Class II, or c) Distinction
First Degree Sample
Bachelor's (Honours)
Grading System

A- Equivalent: High Distinction/First Class; 80/100; 85/100*

High Distinction 80%-100%
Distinction 70%-79%
Credit 60%-69%
Pass 50%-59%

* Some universities use a modification of the above system:
HD High Distinction, 85-100%
D Distinction, 75-84%
C Credit, 65-74%
P Pass, 50-64%

The A–E letter grades are used in individual subjects by some institutions

Recognized Universities

Australian Catholic University
Australian National University
Bond University
Central Queensland University
Charles Darwin University
Charles Sturt University
Curtin University of Tech.
Deakin University
Edith Cowan University
Flinders University of S. Australia
Griffith University
James Cook University of North Queensland
La Trobe University
MacQuarie University
Monash University
Murdoch University
Northern Territory University
Queensland University of Tech.
Royal Melbourne Institute of Tech. (RMIT)
Southern Cross University
Swinburne University of Tech.
University of Adelaide
University of Ballarat
University of Canberra
University of Melbourne
University of Newcastle
University of New England
University of New South Wales
University of Queensland
University of South Australia
University of Southern Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Tasmania
University of Tech. Sydney
University of West Australia
University of Western Sydney
University of Wollongong
Victoria University of Tech

Notes for Australia

There is no national grading system. Each institution develops its own grading system. Usually the grading system is indicated on the transcript. Some institutions use the conditional or conceded pass, but the number of these accepted in a course are limited to one or two per student. Failed subjects must be repeated or an alternative taken in its place to complete a program.

Bachelor’s (Ordinary) degrees are not acceptable.

* Entrance requirements for Master’s degrees in Australia vary from program to program. Please consult the Recruitment and Admissions Office regarding Master’s degrees without prior completion of a 4-year bachelor’s honours degree.

Master’s degrees by coursework are generally unclassified, some institutions award Master degrees with Honours (unclassified).
Honours Master’s (Master by Research) degrees awarded as follows:
a) First Class Honours; Second Class Honours A; Second Class Honours B; or
b) Honours Class I; Honours Class II; or
c) Distinction

+Grading Scale for University of Melbourne:
H1 80-100 1st class,
H2A 75-79 2nd class H D,
H2B 70-74 2nd class H,
H3 65-69 3rd class,
P 50-69 pass

Distance education students represent 15.5% of the total university enrolment in Australia. Qualifications obtained through distance education receive the same level of recognition as qualifications obtained through conventional modes of study for both employment purposes and admission to further studies.

Last Update: September 11, 2018

Last modified: June 13, 2019