Austria | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
2.5/5 on a reverse scale
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Bakkalaureus; Diplom-Ingenieur; Magister
Masters Equiv.
Doktor*;Fachhochschuldiplom*; Master (Post-2004)
Grad Sample
Doktoratsstudium (title - Doctor)
First Degree Sample
Grading System

1 sehr gut very good A
2 gut good B
3 befriedigend fair C
4 genugend poor C-
5 yngenügend failure F

Recognized Universities

University of Salzburg
University of Vienna
Vienna University of Technology
Technical University of Graz
Johannes Kepler University, Linz
Karl-Franzens-Universitat Graz (Karl Franzens Univ. of Graz)
Leopold-Franzens-Universitat Innsbruck (University of Innsbruck) Montanuniversitat Leoben (University of Leoben)
Univ. fur Bodenkultur Wien (Univ. of Agricultural Sciences, Vienna) Veterinarmedizinische Univ. Wien (Vienna Univ. of Veterinary Med.)
Wirtschaftsuniversitat Wien (Vienna U. of Economics and Bus. Admin.) Hochschule fur Angewandte Kunst in Wien (U. of Applied Arts, Vienna)
Hochschule fur Kunstlerische and Industrielle Gestaltung in Linz (Univ. of Art and Industrial Design in Linz)
Hochschule fur Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Graz (Univ. of Music and Dramatic Arts in Graz)
Hochschule fur Musik und Darstellende Kunst ‘Mozarteum’ in Salzburg (Univ. of Music and Dramatic Art, ‘Mozarteum’ Salzburg
Hochschule fur Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Wien (Univ. of Music and Dramatic Art in Vienna)

Notes for Austria

Pre-Bologna Process:

Normally, pre-Bologna degrees of four years duration or a combination of post-secondary credentials totalling four years duration is required for standard admission. Applications from students with pre-Bologna degrees of three years duration (180 ECTS credits) are considered on a case-by-case basis for graduate admission eligibility to a UofT Master’s program by the School of Graduate Studies. A non-standard admission case must be submitted to SGS for review and consideration. Please contact your Student Services Officer if you have any questions on how to assess these degrees.

*Doktor, Fachhochschuldiplom. Please contact your Student Services Officer if you have any questions on how to assess these degrees.

Master programmes normally last for 4 semesters (120 ECTS credits) at universities and for 2-4 semesters (60 to 120 ECTS credits) at universities of applied sciences. (ref: AACRAO EDGE) A total of 300 ECTS credits should have been awarded for the Bachelor and Master Degrees combined. A 4-year Bachelor Degree requires 240 ECTS, therefore a 1-year Master Degree with 60 ECTS is sufficient. A 3-year Bachelor Degree requires 180 ECTS, and so a 2-year Master Degree with 120 ECTS is necessary.

Bologna Note:

Austria joined Bologna process in 1999.

Since 2002 most universities started to offer three cycle degree system:

First cycle (Bachelor): 3-4 years (180-240 ECTS)
Second cycle (Master): 1-2 years (60-120 ECTS)
Third cycle (Doctorate): Minimum 4 years (240 ECTS)

In Austria, all universities and universities of applied sciences are from the 2004 academic year legally bound to confer a diploma supplement.

ECTS grading system is being used in addition to the local grades.

Last modified: June 13, 2019