Bangladesh | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
60/100; 3.0/4.0
B Plus GPA
65/100; 3.25/4.0
Instruction Languages
Bangla, English
Bachelors Equiv.
Bachelor`s Degree, requiring a minimum of 4 years of studyOr Completion of both Bachelor and Master`s
Masters Equiv.
Master of PhilosophyOr Master`s Degree following a 4-year Bachelor (e.g. Master of Engineering; Master of Science in Engineering; Master of Science in Agriculture)
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
Bachelor's - Honours degrees are classified by class
Grading System

A- Equivalent: 70/100; 3.5/4.0

Effective the 2006-2007 academic year, Bangladesh introduced a new grading system to be used by all public and private universities.

Numerical Grade Letter Grade Grade Point
80% and above A+ 4.0
75% to less than 80% A 3.75
70% to less than 75% A- 3.5
65% to less than 70% B+ 3.25
60% to less than 65% B 3.0
55% to less than 60% B- 2.75
50% to less than 55% C+ 2.5
45% to less than 50% C 2.25
40% to less than 45% D 2.0
less than 40% F 0.0

Bangladesh Institute of Technology
A 4.0 1st Class with Honours
B+ 3.5 1st Class with Honours
B 3.0 1st Class
C+ 2.5 2nd Class
C 2.0 2nd Class

60-100% 1st Class
45-59% 2nd Class
33-44% 3rd Class
0-32% Fail

Recognized Universities

Ahsanullah University of Science and Technology
American International University of Bangladesh
Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
Bangladesh Agricultural University, Mymensingh
Bangladesh Institute of Technology
Bangladesh Open University
East West University
Independent University, Bangladesh
Islamic University of Technology
Jahangirnagar University, Dhaka
Khulna University
North South University
Shahajalal University of Science and Technology
United International University
University of Chittagong
University of Dhaka
University of Rajshahi

Notes for Bangladesh

Bachelor degrees from most private institutions are four-year programmes modelled on the US system in which students select `major` and `minor` subjects. These degrees often include a thesis. In contrast to the two and three-year degrees, the four-year degrees are structured by a credit system. Four-year programmes comprise at least 120 credits. Almost all private universities also use the Grade Point Average (GPA) grading system.

There are several types of Bachelor degrees at the undergraduate level. The affiliated colleges of public universities previously offered a two-year Pass degree with a broad-based subject curriculum. Since 2003, the Pass degree has been lengthened to three years. Degrees are offered in three areas: arts, science and commerce.

As well as Pass degrees, public universities have also offered three-year Honours degrees which, unlike the Pass degree, include a greater level of subject specialisation. As with Pass degrees, Honours degrees have been restructured and now last four years. The two and three-year Pass and Honours degrees do not usually require the completion of a thesis.
Pass degrees are generally taken at university-affiliated colleges, whilst candidates usually study for Honours degrees at the university itself. Only a few university-affiliated colleges offer Honours degree courses and fewer still offer postgraduate courses.


A four-year Bachelor of Business Administration (B.B.A.) degree is now being offered. Modeled on the US system, the new B.B.A. includes a semester system academic calendar and a minimum of 120 semester hours of credit as the minimum graduation requirement. In some instances, the new four-year degrees run year-round for three years. In either instance, the number of hours completed is the same. Three-year degrees which follow an academic calendar of nine months — and which do not use semester hours — are not comparable to a Canadian bachelor’s degree. 

Master`s degrees require either two years of study after completion of a 2-year Pass degree or one year of study after completion of a 3-year Honours degree. Applicants with these degrees (2-year Bachelor + 2-year Master or 3-year Bachelor + 1-year Master) can be considered for admission to a Master’s program at U of T.

Following the introduction of 4-year Bachelor degrees, Master’s degrees normally last two or three semesters and include a thesis. Applicants with a Master’s degree following a 4-year Bachelor can be considered for admission to a Doctoral program at U of T.

The Master of Philosophy is a research degree, which generally takes two years to complete after the Master`s degree. It is only offered in specific fields of study. Applicants with a Master of Philosophy degree can be considered for a Doctoral program at U of T.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of Bangladesh, established in 1972 is the apex body of all the affiliated public, private and international universities of Bangladesh. While there is no formal accreditation authority or process in Bangladesh for higher education institutions, accreditation is de facto achieved by listing of institutions by the UGC on its website. The primary objectives of the UGC are to supervise, maintain, promote and coordinate university education. It provides funds for “Government Funded Universities” in Bangladesh and is responsible for maintaining standards and quality in all public and private universities in Bangladesh.

Private universities have been lawfully established in Bangladesh since 1992. With a few exceptions however, most private institutions are small in size, offer a narrow range of subjects.

National University: This is an Affiliating University responsible for academic control of all the affiliated colleges offering courses in Degree Pass, Honours and Masters and for conducting Bachelor Degree and Master`s examinations.

Bangladesh Open University (BOU) conducts non-campus distance education programmes especially in the field of teacher education and offers Bachelor of Education (B.Ed.) and Master of Education (M.Ed) degrees.


Degrees offered in professional subjects, such as medicine, agriculture, architecture and nursing, follow a structure different to that of the Pass and Honours degrees. They are of a more professional nature, many involving a period of internship or workplace training, and they often entitle successful candidates to become registered within their relevant profession. These degrees typically are four years in duration, with the exception of medicine, dentistry, and architecture which take one year longer for completion. Programmes may contain a thesis or a project. A credit system is often used for recently awarded professional degree programmes, too. These degrees contain a minimum of 120 credits, but will normally include more credits.

On completion of the five-year Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS), students must complete a one-year internship before they are awarded a registration certificate by the Bangladesh Medical Council. Medical and dental colleges must be recognised by the Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council in order to have the right to offer MBBS and dentistry degrees.

The Bachelor of Law (LLB) Honours degree is offered either as a four-year first degree course, or a two-year second degree course following a first degree at an affiliated college. LLB courses are offered at Dhaka, Rajshahi and Chittagong Universities and in law colleges approved by the universities. The Master of Laws (LLM) course is a one-year course for applicants who hold a LLB Honours degree. At Rajshahi University, it is possible to take a Bachelor of Jurisprudence (BJus.) Honours course. Admission is based on the HSC. The Master of Jurisprudence (MJus.) requires a further year and on completion of the programme candidates may study for three further years to obtain the LLM.

Last Update: August 31, 2020

Last modified: August 31, 2020