Colombia | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Licenciado, Título de [subject area] or Profesional en [subject area] (Professional title - e.g. Ingeniero or Psicólogo), Licentiatura or Titulo de Tecnico Superior requiring four years of study.
Masters Equiv.
Grad Sample
Magister, Doctorado
First Degree Sample
Licenciatura or professional title (e.g., Ingeniero)
Grading System

A- Equivalent: 4.2/5.0

4.6-5.0 Extremely High
4.0-4.59 Excellent
3.5-3.99 Good
3.0-3.49 Average
0-2.99 Failure

Recognized Universities

Colegio Mayor Nuestra Senora del Rosario
Escuela de Administraciona y Finanzas
Fundacion Universidad de Bogota ‘Jorge Tadeo Lozano’
Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Bogota
Univ. de Antioquia
Univ. del Atlantico
Universidad Autonoma Latinoamerica, Medellin
Univ. Pedagocgica y Tecnologica de Colombia
Universidad de Caldas, Manizales
Universidad de Cartagena, Cartagena
Universidad de Cauca, Popayan
Universidad Distrital ‘Francisco Jose de Caldas’, Bogota
Universidad EAFIT
Universidad Externado de Columbia
Universidad INCCA de Colombia, Bogota
Universidad Industrial de Santander, Bucaramanga
Universidad ‘La Gran Colombia’, Bogota
Univ. Nacional de Colombia
Universidad de la Sabana
Universidad de Los Andes, Santa Fe De Bogota
Universidad de Medellin, Medellin
Universidad Narino, Pasto
Universidad del Norte
Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana, Medellin
Universdidad de San Buenaventura
Universidad Santiago de Cali, Cali
Universidad Surcolombiana (South Colombian University)
Universidad Tecnologica de Pereira
Universidad del Tolima, Ibaque
Universidad de Santo Tomas
Universidad del Valle

Notes for Colombia

Especialista (Specialist)
-Entry to the programme is based on an undergraduate degree in a related discipline (usually medicine, law, business and economics) and enables students to gain an in-depth knowledge of their chosen field. The course is usually offered by universities and university institutions and tends to last for two to three semesters. However, some programmes may be significantly longer in duration (e.g. medical specialisations can last up to five years). Extensive research is usually not required.

Successful graduates are awarded the credential of Especialista (Specialist). A slight variation in the wording is possible and can include titles such as Especialización Profesional (Professional Specialisation) or Especialización en (Specialisation in).

The Especialista is comparable to 1-2 years of graduate studies in Canada.

Last Update: October 2, 2018

Last modified: June 13, 2019