Congo (Democratic Republic) | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Licence, Diplome d`Ingenieur, Docteur en Medecine
Masters Equiv.
Diplome d`Etudes specialisees (or superieures) (DES)
Grading System

0-100%, with 50% as minimum passing grade:
90-100% la plus grande distinction
80-89% grande distinction
70-79% distinction
50-69% satisfaction
0-49% failure

Recognized Universities

University Centre of Bukavu
University of Kinshasa
University of Kisangani
University of Lubumbashi

Notes for Congo (Democratic Republic)

In 1908, the Belgian Parliament, under international pressure, declared the area a Belgian colony and it was renamed the Belgian Congo. On June 30, 1960, Belgium granted independence and the country became the Republic of Congo. In 1966, President Joseph Mobutu changed the name to the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and, in 1971, changed it again to the Republic of Zaire. In 1997, President Laurent Kabila changed the name back to the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The first cycle of university studies is 3 years and leads to Diplôme de Gradué (Diploma of Graduate). Second cycle studies are 2 years following the Diplôme de Gradué. Upon successful completion of the program, students are awarded a Licence (licentiate).

Graduate programs are 2 years and require a Licence for admission. Upon successful defense of a thesis, students are awarded a Diplôme ďEtudes Supérieures/DES (Diploma of Higher Studies). Doctoral studies require a Diplôme ďEtudes Supérieures/DES for admission. They are 4-7 years, and, upon successful defense of a dissertation, students are awarded a Doctorat (Doctorate).

Last modified: October 18, 2019