Georgia | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
4/5; C (ECTS)
B Plus GPA
4.3/5; B (ECTS)
Instruction Languages
Abkhazian, Azerbaijani, Armenian, Georgian, Russian, English, German, French
Bachelors Equiv.
Bakalavris Khariskhi (requiring 4 yrs of study); Specialist Diploma
Masters Equiv.
Magistris Khariskhi; *Specialist Diploma
Grading System

5 Excellent
4 Good
3 Satisfactory
2 Failed
1 Failed

Since 2007 some Georgian HEI’s use ECTS grading scale.

A   Excellent                                           
B   Very Good                                        
C   Good                                                
D   Satisfactory                                      
E    Sufficient                                         
FX  Fail                                                        
F    Fail      

Recognized Universities

Abhaz University
Georgian Technical University
Tbilisi Orbeliani State Teacher’s Training University
Tbilisi State Medical University
Tbilisi State University “Ivane Javahisvilis Sahelobis”

Notes for Georgia

Pre-university education requires 12 years of study.
Competitive entrance examinations are required for admission to university level institutions.

*A Specialist Diploma requiring 5 years of study may be considered as equivalent to the Magistris Kharishki and considered for doctoral admission.

Georgian graduates who have excellent marks are awarded a Diplomi Tsarchinebit (Diploma with Honours) at the first (Bachelor`s) and second (Master`s ) stages of university level education.

Bologna Note:

Georgia joined Bologna process in 2005. New Degree Cycles Introduced in 2005: Bachelor, Master, Doctorate

Bachelor studies (Bakalavriati) – 4 years
Master studies (Magistratura) – 1-2 years
Doctoral studies (Doctorandura) – 3 years

Note: The “Certified Specialist” diploma remains in the higher education structure. It grants a qualification to work in a specific profession. It is a 5-year program, except in the medical field (including veterinary medicine), which requires 6 years. The Certified Specialist from a 6-year program may be deemed equivalent to the new degree of Master.

As of 2007 all higher education institutions are expected to issue a Diploma Supplement (DS) in a format that conforms to the EU/CoE/UNESCO Diploma Supplement format, free of charge, and automatically, without requiring a special request from the student. Tbilisi State University issued its first DS in 2006.

Last modified: June 13, 2019