Germany | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Bachelor Diplom Magister Artium
Masters Equiv.
Master Doktor/Promotion
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
*Diplom, Magister Artium, Staatsexamen/Staatsprufung Diplom, Doktor (Doktor eines Wissenschaftszweiges) first level, in a particular field: Science discipline
Grading System

A- Equivalent: 1.7/5

1 Sehr Gut Very Good A
2 Gut Good B
3 Befriedigend Satisfactory C
4 Ausreichend Pass C-
5 Mangelhaft Fail F

Note that Staatsexamen use a different grading scale from the standard five-point scale, with a maximum score of 18. A score of 11.5 is the minimum score for a “gut” designation, and 14 is the minimum for “sehr gut.”
14-18 = very good
11.5-13.99 = good
9-11.49 = fully satisfactory
6.5-8.99 = satisfactory
4-6.49 sufficient/pass
1.5-3.99 = unsatisfactory
0-1.49 = insufficient

Recognized Universities

Albert Ludwig Univ. of Freiburg
Berlin Institute of Technology
Bielefeld University
Brandenburg Univ. of Technology
Christian-Albrechts-Univ. Kiel
Dresden Univ. of Technology
Eberhard-Karls-Univ. Tubingen
Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitat Greifswald
Free Univ. of Berlin
Friedrich-Scholler-Universitat Jena
George August Univ. of Gottingen
Goethe Univ. Frankfurt
Hanover Medical School
Humboldt Univ. of Berlin
Justus Liebig Univ. of Giessen
Johannes Gutenberg Univ. of Mainz
Karl-Marx Univ. of Leipzig
Ludwig Maximilian Univ. of Munich
Martin-Luther Univ. of Halle-Wittenberg
Philipps Univ. of Marburg
University of Applied Sciences, Fulda
Univ. of Constance
Univ. of Bonn
Univ of Bremen
Univ. of Cologne
Univ. of Dortmund
Univ. of Hamburg
Univ. of Mannheim
Univ. of Munich
Univ. of Munster
Univ. of Regensburg
Univ. of the Ruhr
Univ. of the Saar
Univ. of Stuttgart
Univ. of Ulm
Univ. of Wurzburg
Wilhelm-Pieck-Universitat Rostock

Notes for Germany

Germany joined Bologna process in 1999.

Since 2002 most universities have offered a three cycle degree system:

First cycle (Bachelor): 3-4 years (180-240 ECTS)
Second cycle (Master): 1-2 years (60-120 ECTS)
Third cycle (Doctorate): Minimum 3 years (180 ECTS)

Diploma Supplements have useful information about normal program requirements, accreditation and educational pathways.

Since 2005 all students automatically receive the Diploma Supplement in English at no charge. ECTS grading system is often used in addition to the local grades.

Bachelor programmes last for 6-8 semesters (180 to 240 ECTS credits). Applications from students with a bachelor’s degree of three years duration (180 ECTS) are considered on a case-by-case basis for graduate admission eligibility by the School of Graduate Studies. A non-standard admission case must be submitted to SGS for review and consideration.

For pre-2002 qualifications, Diplom or Magister Artium may be considered on a case by case basis for admission to doctoral programs. A non-standard admission case must be submitted to SGS for review and consideration.

“Diplom” from Fachhochschule (Diplom FH) is not acceptable for standard admission, although SGS will consider a non-standard admission case. Bologna-compliant “Bachelor’s degrees” from Fachhochschulen should be assessed in the same manner as those from more traditional universities, with 240-credit degrees meeting the standard admission requirements, and 180-credit degrees being assessed on case-by-case basis for non-standard admission.

Diplom or Bachelor’s degrees awarded by a Berufsakademie are not acceptable. Vordiplom is not acceptable.

Applicants who have completed a first degree program of five or more years in length which includes a thesis may be considered for admission to a doctoral program.

Normally, pre-Bologna degrees of four years duration or a combination of post-secondary credentials totalling four years duration is required for standard admission.

Staatsexamen are the qualificiation required for certain restricted professions such as medicine, law, dentistry, veterinary medicine. The period of study leading to the erstes Staatsexamen (first state examination) will vary from qualification to qualification, but meets the requirements for standard admission to a Master’s program. The zweites Staatsexamen is awarded after a training period known either as a Vorbereitungsdienst or Referendariat. It is the final qualification before the holder is allowed to practice in his or her chosen field, and meets the requirements for standard admission to a doctoral program.

Last Update: October 2, 2018

Last modified: June 13, 2019