Italy | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
25/30 (courses); 90/110 (thesis/final graduation mark)
A Minus GPA
27/30 (courses); 105/110 (thesis/final graduation mark)
B Plus GPA
26/30 (courses); 95/110 (thesis/final graduation mark)
Instruction Languages
Italian, English
Bachelors Equiv.
Laurea requiring four years of study
Masters Equiv.
Master (post 2001); Laurea Specialistica/Magistrale
Grading System

Excellent              27-30
Good                     21-26
Satisfactory         18-20
Unsatisfactory      0-17

Recognized Universities

Catholic University of the Sacred Heart
Free International University of Social Studies
Polytechnic Institute of Milan
Turin Polytechnic University
University ‘Gabriele d’Annunzio’ of Chieti
University Bologna
University of Aquila
University of Bari
University of Bergamo
University of Brescia
University of Cagliari
University of Calabria
University of Camerino
University of Cassino
University of Catania
University of Commerce ‘Luigi Bocconi’ Milan
University of Florence
University of Genoa
University of Lecce
University of Macerata
University of Messina
University of Milan
University of Modena
University of Molise
University of Naples Federico II
University of Padua
University of Palermo
University of Parma
University of Pavia
University of Perugia
University of Pisa
University of Reggio Calabria
University of Rome ‘La Sapienza’
University of Rome II ‘Tor Vergata”
University of Salerno
University of Sassari
University of Siena
University of Trento
University of Trieste
University of Turin
University of Udine
University of Urbino
University of Venice
University of Verona

Notes for Italy

*Laurea: 3-year Laurea, post 2001 (non-standard admission case required for SGS review). 5-year Laurea, pre-2001 (standard admission).


The first level of university study is the Corso di Laurea leading to the award of the Laurea. The Laurea is awarded to students who have earned 180 credits over three years. Holders of the Laurea may use the title Dottore.

Up until the reforms of 1999, the Laurea was a long cycle university course, which took between four and six years to complete. Graduates who were awarded an old style Laurea could also use the title Dottore.

Laurea Magistrale / Laurea Specialistica
The Corso di Laurea Magistrale (known as Laurea Specialistica between 2002-2006) is aimed at graduates with an advanced level of education required for highly specialised professions. Admission is via the Laurea degree and normally lasts for two years. Graduates must achieve 120 credits to be awarded the final degree of Laurea Magistrale (LM.)

In some subjects (architecture, dentistry, law, medicine, orthodontics, pharmacy, veterinary medicine) a one-cycle degree can be taken that covers the first and second cycles. These courses last for five to six years and the qualification awarded is the Laurea Magistrale. Courses taken directly after secondary education are distinguished with by ‘ciclo unico’ in their title.

Holders of the Laurea Specialistica / Magistrale may use the title Dottore Magistrale.

Master Universitario di Primo Livello

The Corso di Master Universitario di Primo Livello consists of advanced scientific courses or continuing higher education studies open to holders of the Laurea. The course length is normally one year and results in the Master Universitario di Primo Livello. Students need at least 60 credits to pass.

Dottorato di Ricerca

Admissions requirements for accessing DR study are a Laurea Specialistica / Magistrale and the successful completion of a competitive entrance examination.

Until 1997, the entry requirements were a Laurea and national examinations, after which the national selection tests were abolished.

Each institution is responsible for the administration, organisation and running of its own DR programmes, including the selection of candidates, evaluation of programmes and the conferral of the academic degree in a specific field (Dottorato di Ricerca) along with the corresponding title (Dottore di Ricerca).

All legally recognised state and non-state Italian universities have the authority to award third level doctoral degrees and associated titles.

Corso di Specializzazione

The Corso di Specializzazione is aimed at highly qualified professionals. These courses often relate to specific Italian laws or European Union directives, which regulate various professional fields, for example medicine, pharmacy and teaching. Admission is via the Laurea and a competitive examination. Programmes vary from two to six years in duration (between 120 to 360 ECTS) depending on the subject area and are offered in specific professions only. Graduates receive the title ‘Specialista’.

Last Update: October 19, 2020

Last modified: October 19, 2020