Kazakhstan | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
4/5 or Good Standing
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Kazakh, Russian
Bachelors Equiv.
Bakalavr (requiring 4 years of study); Specialist Diploma
Masters Equiv.
Master’s degree; *Specialist Diploma
Grading System

5 Excellent
4 Good
3 Satisfactory
2 Unsatisfactory
1 Totally Unsatisfactory

Recognized Universities

Aktau Esenov University
Aktubinski Zubanov University
Almaty State Medical Asfandiarov Institute
Almay Abi State University
Eastern Kazakhstan State University
Eastern Kazaskhstan Technical University
Eurasian University “L.N. Gumilyov”
Karaganda State University “E.A. Buketov”
Karaganda State Technical University
Kazakhstan Institute of Management, Economics and Strategic Research
Kazakh National Technical University
Kazakh State Agricultural University
Kazakh State National University Al Farabi
Koksetau Valihanov University
Northern Kazakhstan University
Pavlodar State University “S. Torigirov”
West-Kazakhstan Agrarian University
Zambyl University

Notes for Kazakhstan

Pre-university education requires 1

*A Specialist Diploma requiring 5 years of study may be considered as equivalent to the Master’s and considered for doctoral admission.

Bologna Note:

Kazakhstan joined Bologna process in 2010. A system based on two cycles, bachelors and masters, was introduced in mid -2000. Undergraduate cycle (bachelor’s) lasts 4 years, and graduate cycle (master’s) lasts 1-2 years.

Old Specialist Diploma is still offered.

Last modified: June 13, 2019