Korea, South | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
83/100; 3.3/4.5
A Minus GPA
90/100; 4/4.5
B Plus GPA
87/100; 3.7/4.5
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Masters Equiv.
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
Grading System

Grading scales may vary:

A+:    95-100%     4.5
A:        90-94%      4.0
B+:     85-89%      3.5
B:        80-84%      3.0
C+:     75-79%      2.5
C:       70-74%       2.0
D+:     65-69%      1.5
D:       60-64%       1.0
F:         0-59%          0

Recognized Universities

Ajou University
Cheju National University
Chonbuk National University
Chonnam National University
Chung-Ang University
Chungbuk National University
Chungnam National University
Dankook University
Dong-A University Sunkyunkwan University
Dongguk University
Ewha Women`s University
Gwangju University
Gyeongsang National University
Hankuk Univ. of Foreign Studies
Handong Global University
Hanyang University
Hanyong National University
Hongik University
Inha University
Keimyung University
Kongju National University
Konkuk University
Korea National Open University
Korea University
Kyonggi University
Kyungpook National University
Kyung Hee University
Pohang University of Science and Technology
Pukyong National University
+ Pusan National University
Myongji University
Seoul National University
Seoul National Univeristy of Technology
Sogang University
Sookmyung Women`s University
Soongsil University
Sungkyunkwan University
Yonsei University

Notes for Korea, South

There are several different grading scales used in South Korean institutions. For assistance in determining equivalency, contact your Student Services Officer.

+ Between March 1973 and December 1983 this institution was known as Busan National University

Bachelor’s Degree
Most Bachelor degrees are three or four years in length and are broadly divided into three types: general degrees, special degrees and professional degrees.

General degrees are ordinarily three years in length. Special degrees and professional degrees require at least four years of study. High-performing students can often transfer from a general to a special degree at the end of the first or second year. Special degrees require the completion of a dissertation in the fourth year. Four-year general degrees with no research element are also available. The first year of many Bachelor degrees includes foundational courses in subjects such as English and computer literacy.

A general degree typically culminates in the award of a Bachelor in Arts or Science degree with no subject specified. A special degree usually culminates in the award of a Bachelor of Arts or Science degree in a subject that is specified on the degree transcript or statement of results. Special degrees often include Honours either on the degree certificate itself or on the statement of results. Bachelor of Technology degrees may either be general (three years in duration) or special (four years).

Professional degrees are offered in subjects such as architecture, business administration, engineering, law and medicine. They typically include a compulsory industrial placement in the fourth year. Professional degrees culminate in the award of either a Bachelor of subject award (for example Bachelor of Business Administration, Bachelor of Engineering or Bachelor of Laws), or a Bachelor of Science degree in a professional subject (for example BSc in Agriculture or BSc in Nursing). Degrees in medicine are five years in length and lead to the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree.

Many universities employ a credit system. Typically, a credit represents 15 contact hours of lectures or between 30 and 45 contact hours of laboratory or practical work. Around 30 credits are usually required to complete one academic year.

A general Bachelor degree is at Level 5 of the Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework (SLQF) and a special or professional Bachelor degree is at Level 6. Some professional qualifications are also accepted as equivalent to a Bachelor degree for admission to Master’s degree programmes.

Master’s Degree
A Bachelor degree (general, special or professional) is required for entry on to a Master’s programme. Master’s degrees are one to two years in length and may be solely coursework based or coursework and research based. Two-year Master’s courses almost always have a research component. On the Sri Lanka Qualifications Framework (SLQF; see National Qualifications Framework), a Master’s degree by course work is at Level 9 and a Master’s degree with a research component is at Level 10. However, both types of Master’s degree may provide entry to a PhD programme. Titles awarded include Master of Arts (MA), Master of Science (MSc) and Master of Business Administration (MBA).

The Doctor of Medicine (MD) is a Master’s level award available in specialisms such as clinical oncology, family medicine, paediatrics and psychiatry. It is awarded to medical graduates after three years of supervised training and completion of the MD examination. A further two years of specialist training and clinical research leads to Board Certification. This allows the holder to practise as a consultant.

Research degrees
Research degrees include the Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and the Doctorate (including the Doctor of Philosophy and the Doctor of Business Administration). Research degrees are awarded based on independent research and submission of a thesis. The MPhil is usually two years in length and a Doctorate requires three years in total.

A Master’s degree is the standard entry requirement for a research degree. However, a Bachelor degree (General or Special) may be sufficient for entry on to a Master of Philosophy programme, and a high-scoring Bachelor (Special) degree may provide entry on to a Doctor of Philosophy programme in some subjects.

Last Update: September 11, 2020

Last modified: September 11, 2020