Kyrgyzstan | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
4/5 or Good Standing
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Kyrgyz, Russian, Uzbek
Bachelors Equiv.
Bakalavr (Bachelor`s Degree; requiring at least 4 years of study), Specialist Diploma
Masters Equiv.
Magistr; *Specialist Diploma
Grading System

5 Excellent
4 Good
3 Satisfactory (Pass/Fail level)
2 Unsatistactory

Recognized Universities

American University in Central Asia
Biskek Humanities University
Kyrgyz National University
Kyrgyz Technical University
Kyrgyz University
Osh State University

Notes for Kyrgyzstan

Pre-university education requires 12 years of school.

*A Specialist Diploma (prior 1992) requiring 5 years of study may be considered as equivalent to the Magistr and considered for doctoral admission.

Students who gain entrance to a university may complete a “bachelor`s” degree after four years or a “specialist`s” degree after five years.  A “master`s” degree is awarded after two additional years following the “bachelor`s” degree or one additional year after the “specialist`s” degree.

Although the Kyrgyzstan ratified the Lisbon Recognition Convention in 2004, it is not a State party to the European Cultural Convention of the Council of Europe, and there is – as far as is known – no consideration of expanding the geographical scope of this Convention. It therefore seems clear the Kyrgyzstan is not eligible to join the Bologna Process under the criteria defined in Berlin.

Last modified: June 13, 2019