Malaysia | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
2nd Class Upper Division; Numerical Grade: 3.00, 64%
A Minus GPA
1st Class; Numerical Grade: 3.60, 70%
B Plus GPA
2nd Class Upper Division; Numerical Grade: 3.30, 67%
Instruction Languages
English, Malay
Bachelors Equiv.
Bachelor`s degree awarded with Honours
Masters Equiv.
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
Bachelor's degree awarded with Honours
Grading System

Letter Grade    Numerical Grade    Percentage Grade
A                         4.00                         70-100
A-                       3.70-3.67
B+                      3.33-3.30
B                         3.00                          60-69
B-                       2.70-2.67
C+                      2.33-2.30
C                         2.00 (pass)              50-59
C-                       1.70-1.67
D+                      1.50-1.33
D                        1.00                           40-49
D-                       0.67
E                         0-39
F                         0.00

Honours Classification Grades
First Class/Class I A
Second Class/Class II, Upper Division A-/B+
Second Class/Class II, Lower Division B
Third Class/Class III B-/C+

Recognized Universities

International Islamic University Malaysia (Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia
National University of Malaysia/Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
Northern University of Malaysia/Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)
Sultan Idris University of Education/Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI)
Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
University of Malaya/ Universiti Malaya
University of Malaysia Sabah/Universiti Malaysia Sabah
University of Malaysia Sarawak/Universiti Malaysia Sarawak
University of Science Malaysia/Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
University of Technology Malaysia/Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
University of Technology Mara/Universiti Technologi Mara

Notes for Malaysia

There is some variation in the grading systems used for individual subjects. Many universities use a 4-point grading system for individual subjects and the cumulative grade point average. Others use percentage grades. The grading system is largely based on the UK system; however, some institutions are moving towards the US system

Bachelor Degree
The duration of a Bachelor degree (MQF Level 6) is between three and four years (120 credits and above), although courses in certain subjects may last longer, for example, medicine and dentistry are five-year degrees. Degree programmes usually comprise some general study courses, general and specific core courses and some chosen subjects. An Honours degree may be awarded if a sufficiently high score has been achieved. A dissertation or a final-year project may form part of the programme.

Master’s Degree
A Master’s degree requires one to three years of further study after a Bachelor degree. There are three types of Master’s degrees; a coursework only Master’s (e.g. MBA), a research only degree and courses that include a mixture of coursework and research. The programmes that contain coursework have a credit value of at least 40 credits in the new framework.

Some universities also offer Master of Philosophy (MPhil) degrees. In some cases, these are the same as Master’s degrees (e.g. MA, MSc) by research. In other cases, they are higher research degrees that allow the student to transfer to doctoral programmes before completion of the MPhil.

A PhD is awarded after the completion of a further two years of study following a Master’s degree. In certain subjects, the course can last up to seven years. Doctoral students are expected to conduct independent research that contributes to the broadening of knowledge within their area of expertise.

Last Update: September 2, 2020


Last modified: September 11, 2020