Nepal | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
1st Class/Division
B Plus GPA
1st Class/Division
Instruction Languages
English, Nepali
Bachelors Equiv.
Completion of both Bachelor`s and Master`s degrees OR a Bachelor`s degree, requiring a minimum 4 years of study, in Engineering, Medicine, Veterinary Sciences, Agriculture, Forestry
Masters Equiv.
M.Eng.; Medicine; Veterinary Sciences; Agriculture; M.Phil.
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
Grading System

First Division 60-100%
Second Division 45-59%
Third Division 33-44%

Tribhuvan University
Distinction 75% and above
First Division 60-100%
Second Division 45-59%
Third Division 33-44%

Kathmandu and Purbanchal Universities
Both universities use the letter grade system, with points awarded on a 0 – 4 point scale. GPA is cumulative (CGPA) over the full length of program.
Distinction 3.5 – 4.0
First Division 3.0 – 3.5

B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences
Pass / Fail
This grading system applies to all academic programs offered by the institution. There is no further categorization with the exception of a Certificate of Merit (CM) for students at or above 90th percentile, with a minimum aggregate mark of 75%

Recognized Universities

Kathmandu Vishwavidalaya
Mahendra Sanskrit Vishwavidalaya
Pokhara Vishwavidalaya (1996)
*Tribhuvan Vishwavidalaya
Purbancha Vishwavidalaya

Notes for Nepal

Vishwavidalaya = University

Tribhuvan, estaiblished in 1959 was the first university in Napal and accounts for over 90% of the total student population. It has 60 constituent campuses at which the central university sets curriculum, conducts exams and awards degrees, and 287 affiliated campuses, which are less closely regulated by the home university.

Kathmandu University was founded 1991, offers mostly science and business programming and has low teacher/student ratios (around 1:10), higher graduation rates and higher graduate employment outcomes

Trend to 4 year undergraduate programs
In 1996 the higher education system underwent a significant reform and Bachelor Degrees were restructured as minimum 3-year programs. The private universities established around this time (Kathmandu, Pokhara and Purbanchal Universities) started by offering 3-year degrees as well. Some degrees have since changed to 4-year programs.

Last modified: June 13, 2019