United States | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Masters Equiv.
Grading System

A 4.0
A- 3.7
B+ 3.3
B 3.0
B- 2.7
C+ 2.3
C 2.0
C- 1.7
D+ 1.3
D 1.0
D- 0.7

Recognized Universities

The institution must have regional accreditation from one of the following accrediting bodies:

MSA – Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools
MSCHE – Middle States Commission on Higher Education
NWCCU – Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
HLC – The Higher Learning Commission
NEASC-CIHE – New England Association of Schools and Colleges/Commission on Institutions on Higher Education
SACS-CC – Southern Association of Colleges and Schools/Commission on Colleges
WASC-Sr – Western Association of Schools and Colleges/Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities

Notes for United States

A U.S. 4-year bachelor’s degree requires a minimum of 120 credit hours. A 2-year Associate degree is not acceptable. Sometimes accrediting bodies have member institutions that are outside the United States.

There is no nationally mandated grading scale. The decision on the grading system to be used resides solely with the educational institution, and many higher education institutions utilize different grading schemes depending on level of education or academic department. Grading scales appear on the transcript of grades issued by US colleges and universities.

Some institutions also use pass/fail systems. This is typically used when the work being evaluated is highly subjective, there is no generally accepted standard, or the requirement is simply meeting a minimum standard.

Last Update: October 2, 2018

Last modified: October 18, 2019