Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) at U of T

3MT® U of T Finals 2021

Congratulations to the winners of the

UofT 2021 3MT Finals

First place: Faraz Alidina from the Department of Near & Middle Eastern Civilizations “Persuading Princes, Persuading People: ​The Stories of Attar, a 13th century Persian Poet​”
Second place: Heather MacDonald from the Faculty of Music “Making Music Less Dangerous: Teaching Injury Prevention to Beginner Oboists”​
Third place: Julie Sato from the Department of Psychology “Prematurity, Nutrition, and the Brain”​
People’s Choice Award: Emily McGaugh from the Department of Physiology “A Call for a Cure: Stem Cells and Type 1 Diabetes”​

The 3MT finals was held virtually on Wednesday, March 31, 2021. CBC Ideas producers Nicola Luksic and Tom Howell moderated the competition, and interviewed our special guests Dr. Samantha Yammine (Science Sam) and Geith Maal-Bared about the group that they co-founded, Science is a Drag. Science is a Drag challenges heteronormative stereotypes about scientists and promotes science communication.

Twelve contestants competed in the finals:

Faraz Alidina, Department of Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations
Miriam Hird-Younger, Department of Anthropology
Hanie Yousefi, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
Emily McGaugh, Department of Physiology
Calaina Brooke, Rehabilitation Sciences Institute
Ryan Hiebert, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology​
Stephen Adombire, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing
Kanksha Mahadevia Grimire, Faculty of Law
Crystal Liu, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Julie Sato, Department of Psychology
Heather MacDonald, Faculty of Music
Surath Gomis, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

3MT 2021 Media

PhD student wins Three Minute Thesis contest for presentation on medieval Persian poetU of T News

A&S scholars emerge victorious at this year’s U of T Three Minute Thesis competitionA&S News

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2021 3MT Postdoc Competition!

First place: Dr. Augustine Joshua Devasahayam, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute
Second place: Dr. Liziane Bouvier, Sunnybrook Research Institute
Third place: Dr. Xiwen Zhang, Department of Physics
People’s Choice Award: Dr. Morteza Rezanejad, Department of Psychology

What is the 3MT®​ Competition?

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition is open to all graduate students enrolled in Canadian universities. There is a separate competition for postdoctoral fellows and recent PhD graduates with separate awards. Participants have three minutes or less to present their research to a panel of non-specialist judges, and competitions are held at local, provincial, and national levels. The challenge is to present complex research information in an engaging, accessible, and compelling way.

This competition is a unique opportunity for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows to showcase their innovative and significant research to a wider audience, across disciplines within the University, and to the broader public. It is open to the public and advertised within the community.  

If you have questions about this award competition, please contact: Liam O’Leary at​ For more information on the 3MT, visit MyGPD.