Government-Funded Awards

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​< back to Scholarships & Awards

Federal Awards

Students may only apply to one of the Federal Granting Agencies (NSERC, SSHRC, or CIHR) in a given academic year.

Most federal awards applications are created and submitted online. However, as graduate units must conduct their own internal review and selection process, it is imperative that you contact them well before the online application is due to inquire about specific departmental deadlines and requirements. 

Please note there are no prior departmental deadlines for the CGS Master's competition, and applicants must only adhere to the December 1 online application deadline. 

​Students may hold a maximum of four years of funding from the federal councils (NSERC, SSHRC, and CIHR) at the post-graduate level.

Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master's (CGS M) Program

The objective of the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master's (CGS M) Program is to help develop research skills and assist in the training of highly qualified personnel by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of achievement in undergraduate and early graduate studies. The Tri-council allocates CGS M awards to universities specifying the number of awards that each may offer to their students annually. CGS M awards can only be offered to students pursuing graduate studies at eligible Canadian universities, and the award must be held at the university that has made the offer.

Please visit the CGS M website for full details and eligibility criteria.

U of T students and prospective students can find more details here.

Vanier CGS-—A Tri-Agency Award

The Vanier CGS program aims to attract and retain world-class doctoral students by sup​porting students who demonstrate both leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement in graduate studies in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering, and health. Students wishing to apply for a Vanier CGS must do so through the Canadian university to which they are applying for doctoral studies.

Learn more about the eligibility criteria and how to be nominated by the University of Toronto.

View the complete guidelines on the Vanier CGS website​.

Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral (CGS D​) Program​

New for Fall 2019 -  Canada's three federal granting agencies, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) have been working together to harmonize the Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral (CGS D) Programs. The Tri- Agencies have recently launched the first phase of the harmonization, which includes a new common CGS D webpage, harmonized application timeline and program descriptions. ​

More information on the CGS-D program including eligibility, application process, and selection process is posted on the new Tri-Agency Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral Program webpage. Application information specific to the University of Toronto will be posted in mid-July.

SSHRC Impact Awards

The five annual SSHRC Impact Awards (Gold Medal, Talent Award, Insight Award, Connection Award, Partnership Award) recognize the highest achievements in social sciences and humanities research, knowledge mobilization, and scholarship supported by SSHRC.

The SSHRC Talent Award recognizes outstanding achievement by an individual who, at the nomination deadline, holds a SSHRC doctoral or postdoctoral fellowship or scholarship (including, but not limited to, a Canada Graduate Scholarship, Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship ,or Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship). For more information on the application process and eligibility, visit the SSHRC Talent Award page.

Each institution may submit only one nomination for each Impact Award in each category in a given year. See previous SSHRC Impact Award winners.​

Provincial Awards

The Government of Ontario supports three major award programs for graduate studies at U of T:

Ontario Graduate Scholarship (OGS) Program

The Ontario Graduate Scholarship (OGS) Program recognizes academic excellence in graduate studies at the master's and doctoral levels in all disciplines of academic study.

Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship in Science and Technology (QEII-GSST) Program

The Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship in Science and Technology (QEII-GSST) Program is designed to encourage excellence in science and technology research-based graduate studies.

Ontario Trillium Scholarship (OTS) Program

The Ontario Trillium Scholarship (OTS) program is a provincially-funded initiative to attract top international students to Ontario for PhD/SJD studies with Ontario universities. Using a 2/3 to 1/3 government to institution ratio, approximately 15 Ontario Trillium Scholarships for PhD/SJD Students are awarded annually at the University of Toronto.

See more details on the International Student Awards web page.​