Victoria Haldane

Victoria Haldane named a UTAA Graduate Scholar

Originally published in U of T Alumni News by Allyson Rowley

Victoria Haldane
Victoria Haldane, a UTAA Graduate Scholar

Victoria Haldane has gone above and beyond to engage and empower her peers to become active participants in environmental sustainability and planetary health.

An emerging leader in the field of health services research, Haldane is a PhD candidate in the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, with a collaborative specialization in global health in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health.

Haldane’s dissertation evaluates the implementation of a program to support people receiving tuberculosis treatment in rural Tibet. She also works with and leads international research teams, including projects relating to the global health response to COVID-19.

Haldane is a founding member and co-president of Emerging Leaders for Environmental Sustainability in Healthcare, which advocates for greater environmental awareness across the health sciences. She co-led the inaugural Greening Healthcare Case Challenge which drew 60 students from three campuses and won the U of T Student Life Program of the Year Award.

She played a crucial role in developing a toolkit to advocate for planetary health and environmental sustainability in health care and health science education—even more crucial with the rise in health-care waste during the pandemic.

Haldane co-chaired a national trainee working group to reimagine sustainability to encompass planetary health and sustainable health systems. She is also a Planetary Health Alliance Campus Ambassador, collaborating with a global network of 30 young leaders.

Her professors and peers applaud Haldane as an exceptional leader who has built a community of practice that unites students, staff and faculty in a common cause.

The University of Toronto Alumni Association recognizes the finalists for the Adel Sedra Award as UTAA Graduate Scholars. Read about the other UTAA Graduate Scholars and the Adel Sedra Award recipient.