Graduate Student Mental Health

In recent years there has been a growing acknowledgement and understanding of the fundamental role mental health plays in fostering academic success and in shaping student experience throughout graduate education. SGS is committed to integrating considerations of mental health into all aspects of our work and into graduate education more generally.

Graduate Student Mental Health Working Group

In the Spring of 2020, the SGS Mental Health Working Group was formed to complement the work of the Presidential and Provostial Task Force on Student Mental Health in recognition of the importance of considering the specific, and sometimes unique needs of graduate students.

The SGS Mental Health Working Group developed recommendations with consideration of the diverse graduate student population and the unique nature of graduate education. The recommendations were grounded in the understanding that the graduate community can:

  • Do more to proactively acknowledge, address, and respond to mental health challenges;•better understand the range of needs and identify gaps;
  • Improve mental health awareness by promote existing resources and supports;
  • Design student-focused tools and approaches that are appropriate, inclusive and responsive.

SGS Mental Health Advisory Committee (MHAC)

In order to ensure the timely implementation of the Working Group’s recommendations and ongoing accountability in this area, SGS is establishing a new SGS Mental Health Advisory Committee (MHAC). The remit of the Advisory Committee will be to provide advice and guidance on the implementation of the SGS Mental Health Working Group Recommendations.

MHAC Membership

Master’s Students

Amy Chen – Department of Medical Biophysics

Riley Garno – Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Katie Rose – Department of Psychology

Tara Snyder – Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education

Praveenah Sivabalan – Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

Frank Telfer – Department of Medical Biophysics

Doctoral Students

Teddy Cheung – Department of Psychology

Lexi Ewing – Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development

Amin Kamaleddin Ezabadi – Institute of Biomedical Engineering

Karthik Ganesan – Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Alexandra Gustafson – Department of Philosophy

Bilal Khan – Institute of Health, Policy, Management and Evaluation

Miranda Loutet – Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Safa Majeed – Department of Medical Biophysics

Reeman Marzouqah – Rehabilitation Sciences Institute

Jaykumar Patel – Department of Medical Biophysics

Mateja Perovic – Department of Psychology

Natalie Sisson – Department of Psychology


Vina Goghari, Graduate Chair, Professor, Department of Psychological Clinical Science

Alison Smith, Chair, Professor, Department of History

Charmaine Williams, Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies


Cindy Cao, International Recruitment and Transition Advisor, Faculty of Medicine

Shelley Eisner, Campus Graduate Administrator, Office of the Vice-Principal Academic & Dean, UTSC

Sandra Hohener, Accessibility Advisor, Accessibility Services, Student Life

Josie Lalonde, Director, Student Academic Services, School of Graduate Studies

Related Documents & Resources