Your U of T Resource Finder
Skip to main content

CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards

Award Overview


The CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards recognize Canadian doctoral dissertations that represent original work, making an unusually significant contribution to their disciplines. Two awards are given annually in rotating fields of study. Both methodological and substantive quality of the dissertation will be judged.

Two awards are given annually in two different broad areas (mathematics, physical sciences and engineering; and social sciences; and the biological sciences; and humanities and fine arts).

The 2023 fields of competition are:

  • Biology and Life Sciences
  • Humanities and Fine Arts


All applicants must have completed and had their dissertation accepted by SGS between July 1 (up to two years earlier) and June 30 of the competition year.

Nomination Process

Application is by nomination through the Governor General’s Gold Medals competition.

Contacts & Resources

For further details and/or if you have questions about this award competition, please visit the CGS website or contact:

Graduate Awards Office
School of Graduate Studies