Nigeria | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
2nd Class Upper Division; 3.50; 60/100
A Minus GPA
1st Class; 4.50; 70/100
B Plus GPA
2nd Class Upper Division; 4.00; 67/100
Instruction Languages
Bachelors Equiv.
Honours Bachelor`s degree
Masters Equiv.
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
Grading System

4.50-5.00 | 70-100 | 1st Class (A-, A, A+ equivalency)
3.50-4:49 | 60-69 | 2nd Class upper division (B-, B, B+ equivalency)
50-59 | 2nd Class lower division
40-49 | 3rd Class

University of Lagos
A Excellent
B Credit
C Merit
D Fail

Recognized Universities

The National Universities Commission maintains complete list of accredited institutions. See notes.

Abia State University (ABSU)
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU)
Adekunkle Ajasin University (UNAD)
Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)
Ambrose Alli University
Bayero University, Kano (BUK)
Benue State University (BENSU)
Delta State University (DELSU)
Enugu State University of Science and Technology ESUST)
Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA)
Federal University of Technology Minna (FUTM)
Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO)
Federal University of Technology Yola (FUTY)
Igbinedion University, Okado
Imo State University (IMSU)
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH)
Lagos State University (LASU)
‘Michael Okpara’ University of Agriculture Umudike (MOUAU)
Nnamdi Azikiwe University
Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)
Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU)
Rivers State University of Science and Technology (RSUST)
University of Abuja (UNIABUJA)
University of Ado-Ekiti
University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (UNAAB)
University of Agriculture, Makurdi (UNIAGRIC)
University of Benin (UNIBEN)
University of Calabar (UNICAL)
University of Ibadan (UI)
University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)
University of Jos (UNIJOS)
University of Lagos (UNILAG)
University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)
University of Nigeria (UNN)
University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT)
University of Uyo (UNIUYO)
Usmanu Danfodiyo Univeristy, Sokoto (UDU)

Notes for Nigeria

National Universities Commission maintains complete list of accredited institutions. Please visit

Units may wish to verify documents with the institution of origin prior to admission.

Technical Vocational route to Higher Education
Graduates of Full Professional Diploma (Post-Higher National Diploma HND) are eligible for admission to Master’s level studies in Nigeria. Consult your SSO regarding applicants seeking admission to master’s programs with a Full Professional Diploma from a technical vocational university.

Bachelor’s Degree
Bachelor degrees are generally four years in length. However, there are several exceptions. Professional degrees in subjects such as engineering, law and agriculture are usually five years in length, and professional degrees in medicine and dentistry take six years. Holders of the Higher National Diploma (HND) may gain a Bachelor degree after two years of top-up study.

In some professional health-related subjects the title of Doctor is awarded in place of a Bachelor degree, for example Doctor of Veterinary Medicine and Doctor of Optometry.

All programmes are categorised as Honours degrees, though these can be either single Honours or combined Honours. The Honours classification is normally stated on the degree certificate, although this may not always be the case. Certain degrees in medicine and allied health sciences are not categorised as Honours degrees, including the Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS), Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS), Doctor of Pharmacy and Doctor of Optometry.

A dissertation is usually required for completion of the Bachelor degree although the amount of independent research may be limited. The dissertation may also be in the form of a critique or literature study.

Master’s degree
Master’s degrees are between one and two years in length. Entry to Master’s degree courses is generally based upon receiving a first or second class Honours degree, although holders of a Postgraduate Diploma may also gain entry. Master’s degrees may only be awarded by NUC-approved universities.

Study towards the Doctorate is generally three years in duration following the Master’s degree. Students are required to submit a thesis and take an oral examination. Doctorates may only be conferred by NUC-approved universities.

Some universities offer a Master of Philosophy (MPhil) programme as a stepping stone towards a full Doctorate. Others offer a combined MPhil-PhD programme.

Last Update: September 13, 2020

Last modified: September 13, 2020