Spain | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
B Plus GPA
Instruction Languages
Spanish, Basque, Galician, Catalan
Bachelors Equiv.
Post-2007: Titulo de Grado Pre-2007: Licenciado or Licenciatura or Professional title (Ingeniero,Arquitecto,etc.)
Masters Equiv.
Post 2006: Titulo de Master
Grad Sample
Doctorado/Doctorate(a few universities have begun to offer master’s degrees)
First Degree Sample
Licenciado/Licenciatura Titulo
Grading System

10 Matricula de honor Distinction with honour
9.0-9.9 Sobresaliente Distinction
7.0-8.9 Notable Very good
6.0-6.9 Aprobado Good
5-5.9 Aprobado or Suficiente Satisfactory
below 5 Suspenso or Insuficiente Fail

Recognized Universities

Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona
Universidad Auonoma de Madrid
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Universidad Complutense de Madrid
Universidad de Alcala de Henares
Universidad de Alicante
Universidad de Barcelona
Universidad de Cadiz
Universidad de Cantabria
Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha
Universidad de Cordoba
Universidad de Deusto
Universidad de Extremadura
Universidad de Las Islas Baleares
Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Universidad de Leon
Universidad de Malaga
Universidad de Murcia
Universidad de Navarra
Universidad de Oviedo
Universidad de Salamanca
Universidad de Santiago de Compostela
Universidad de Sevilla Universidad de La Laguna
Universidad de Valencia
Universidad de Valladolid
Universidad de Zaragoza
Universidad del Pais Vasco/Euskat Herriko Univertsitatea
Universidad Nacional de Educacion a Distancia (UNED)
Universidad Politecnica de Canarias
Universidad Politecnica de Cataluna
Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
Universidad Publica de Navarra
Universidad Politecnica de Valencia
Universidadde Grandad

Notes for Spain

Bachillerato and entrance examinations are required for admission to university. Pre-university education is 12 years.

Bologna Note:

Bologna signatory since 1999.

The system offers three cycles which came into effect in 2006:
Titulo de Grado (240 ECTS)
Titulo de Master (60-120 ECTS)

Diploma Supplements are issued to about 50% of graduates

ECTS credit system is being used.

A Diplomado was obtained after completing only the first university cycle and is not equivalent to a bachelor’s degree. (The second cycle was the Licenciado and the third cycle was the Doctorado.)

Last modified: June 13, 2019