United Kingdom | International Credentials Equivalencies

Minimum GPA
2nd Class Hons. Upper Division or above 60%; Master`s (Merit); 2:1
B Plus GPA
2nd Class Hons. Upper Division or above 65%; Master`s (Merit); 2:1
Instruction Languages
English; some Gaelic and Welsh medium programs
Bachelors Equiv.
Honours Bachelor`s*
Masters Equiv.
Grad Sample
First Degree Sample
An honours bachelor’s degree classified as below.
Grading System

A- Equivalent: First division or above 70%

Most honours degrees are classified as follows:

First Class Honours (70-100)
Second Class Honours Upper Division (60-69)
Second Class Honours Lower Division (50-59)
Third Class Honours (40-49)
Pass (35-39)
Fail (Below 35)

Master`s degrees may be classified as:

– The formula for determining classification does not always correspond with course grade percentage.
– 21 Universities started to experiment in November 2013 with an American-style grade-point average. Contact the Recruitment and Admissions Office for assistance.

Recognized Universities

Note distinction between recognized bodies and listed bodies. Listed bodies are higher learning institutions that offer courses in the UK that can lead to a degree from a recognized body. Listed bodies are not recognized bodies.

Check if a university is officially recognized: https://www.gov.uk/check-a-university-is-officially-recognised/recognised-bodies

Notes for United Kingdom

*The honours degree requires 3 years. Honours degrees are normally highly specialized degrees awarded with an honours classification. Special Honours degrees are normally one subject programs which may involve relevant subsidiary subjects. Joint, Double or Combined Honours usually cover two or more major subjects to the same level.

**In some institutions BPhil or BLitt may be awarded for postgraduate work. Cambridge and Oxford graduates, after a specified number of years, can obtain an MA from their university without any further study, on payment of a fee. (see below). The undergraduate Bachelor degree is known as a Bachelor of Arts from Oxford or Cambridge even though the field of study may be in science, law etc. M. Litt. from Cambridge and Oxford may be accepted as equivalent to a master`s degree.

Scotland has three or four-year degrees; the honours degree requires four years. At four Scottish universities (Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow and St. Andrew’s) first degrees in arts are generally called Master of Arts (MA).

A research master’s degree usually includes the following main types:

– Master of/by Research (MRe), typically offered in science subjects, with at least 60% of content being individual project work.

– Master of Philosophy (MPhil), a two years full-time (or four years part-time) research degree that can lead to a doctoral degree for able students (the MPhil is usually considered the first part of a research doctorate degree). Note that an MPhil may also be awarded to a PhD or DPhil student whose final thesis or thesis defence is deemed inadequate.

Doctoral degrees are commonly referred to as PhD or DPhil and are postgraduate degrees requiring at least three years of full-time research (or six years part-time).

Bologna: 180 ECTS (3 years), 240 ECTS (4 years). Credit Accumulation and Transfer Scheme (CATS) is used by many universities in the United Kingdom to monitor, record, and reward passage through a modular degree course and to facilitate movement between courses and institutions. Note that two CATS credits are equivalent to one ECTS credit.

Last Update: October 2, 2018

Last modified: October 18, 2019