SGS Virtual Awards Ceremony

Let’s celebrate!

This academic year, as a result of U of T nominations, close to 2,000 graduate students are the successful recipients of some highly competitive and prestigious awards administered by the Awards Team at the School of Graduate Studies for a combined award value of approximately $36,000,000!

Watch the replay of the virtual awards ceremony, which took place on April 22, 2021, below. Congratulations to our outstanding 2020-2021 awards recipients!

Virtual ceremony programme

On April 22 we heard from these outstanding speakers and award recipients. Throughout the ceremony, we acknowledged each of the awards listed below. The #SGSCelebrates hashtag was used on on social media during the ceremony to celebrate the awards.


Instrumental music by U of T alumni Chris Platt (guitar) and Josh Smiley (keyboard), graduates of U of T’s Jazz Studies, Performance program

Emcee: Jules Phillips, SGS Communications Officer and Master of Information candidate

Opening Address: Ms. Bonnie Jane Maracle, First Nations House, University of Toronto

Dr. Meric Gertler, President, University of Toronto

Dr. Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education and Dean, School of Graduate Studies

Dr. Gretchen Kerr, Vice-Dean, Programs and Innovation, School of Graduate Studies

Dr. Adrian De Leon, Governor General’s Gold Medal 2020 recipient

Dr. Andrew H. Proppe, Governor General’s Gold Medal 2020 recipient

Dr. Yimu Zhao, Governor General’s Gold Medal 2020 recipient

Dr. JJ Berry Smith, Former SGS Vice-Dean, Students, Professor Emeritus, Cell & Systems Biology

Dr. Douglas McDougall, JJ Berry Smith 2020 Doctoral Supervision Award recipient, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning

Dr. Ted Sargent, JJ Berry Smith 2020 Doctoral Supervision Award recipient, University Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering & Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives

Irenius Konkor, Connaught International Scholarship recipient

Dr. Charmaine Williams Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies

Anita Kaiser, 2020-2021 Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship recipient

Dr. Meagan Hamilton, Provost’s Postdoctoral Fellow

This programme is subject to change.


This event would not have been possible without the following incredible community of support:

  • All of the programme speakers and performers listed above
  • The SGS virtual awards committee: Tara Lock, Dianne Snider-Heximer, Kelly Crawford, and Jules Phillips 
  • Laura Stathopoulos, Fong Di Caterina, Olivera Joksimovic, Pascal Papathanasakis, Tara Lock, Stacey Kwan, Virginie Kobayashi, and the entire Graduate Awards Office 
  • Office of the Vice-Provost Graduate Research & Education: Brian Desrosiers-Tam, Kristen Reichold, Gayatri Kumar, Victoria Bautista-Hodgson, and Jeffrey Roberts
  • Clare Eno, Jon Santiago, Amy Forsey, and the Campus Events team  
  • Nick Genova, Frank Scornaienchi, and the Media Production team 
  • Sarah Faulkner, Jessica Pinheiro Da Silveira, Morgan Russell, David Curtin, Lisa Lightbourn-Lay, Adrienne Tao, Michael White, Jennifer Wesley, and Jehanbakhsh (John) Jasavala
  • Everyone at SGS

Thank you all! Faculty of Music students and alumni are available for in-person or virtual performances at events inside and outside the University of Toronto community. Please contact for more information.

2020-21 awards we are celebrating

Celebratory graphics and animations

Click here to access celebratory social media graphics, banners, animations, and more!

Announcing: SGS Celebrates

SGS Celebrates is a new virtual space showcasing achievements from across U of T’s graduate community. Get to know U of T’s outstanding graduate students and the faculty and staff who support them. Celebrate their achievements, share their stories using the #SGSCelebrates hashtag, and submit achievements from your graduate community.