Graduate Awards, Financial Aid, & Funding

Award Opportunities


U of T Researchers win 2022 Polyani prizes across all five categories

Five U of T researchers have been announced as the winners of the 2022 Polanyi Prizes. Dr. Alana Ogata (Chemistry), Dr. Michael Stepner (Economic Science), Dr. Isabella Huberman (Literature), Dr. Joshua Speagle (Physics), and Dr. Kieran Quinn (Medicine) are the newest recipients of the prestigious annual honour that recognizes leading researchers in the early stages of their careers.

U of T’s 2022 Naylor Fellows shine a light on Black health, climate communication, humane prisons, and a healthy home

Nayani Jensen, Jill Downey, Kate Mitchell and Damilola Iduye are the recipients of this year’s C. David Naylor Fellowships for graduate students. All are leveraging the power of interdisciplinary insights to create impactful, solution-focused research at the University of Toronto.

Former U of T graduate students receive 2021–22 Governor General’s Gold Medal

Three former U of T graduate students, Elisabeth PrinceJoyce He, and Fahima Dossa, have been awarded the prestigious Governor General’s Gold Medal for academic excellence.

The medal, given each year to three students determined to have the highest academic standing, is one of the highest honours reserved for graduate students in Canada.  Candidates are evaluated on the basis of their performance in degree courses, the merit of their thesis and its defense, and the originality and importance of their research.